freshmarine.com
???
Thanks
freshmarine.com
???
Thanks
Reef keeping is one of the only endeavors that going slow is actually faster.
I have no experience with them. In fact, I have never even heard of them before, so I just googled their name. Did you try that?
Anyway, here are a couple of links for you to check out:
ServerInsiders.com, be sure to scroll down toward the bottom and read that customer review dated 3 Sept 2010. It's a very negative review.
I found this thread on Manhattan Reefs from January 2007 asking if anyone had ever heard of them. No one had. Then if was revitalized in January 2008 because the topic starter said it appeared that their website was now operational. I guess they were just getting started or something prior to that. It appears that their site was launched 13 Apr 2006 and it's hosted in Sunnyvale, CA (near San Jose). Anyway, no one on Manhattan Reefs had ever heard of them.
It appears that they're operating under more than one name: dreamaquatic.com and freshmarine.com.
There is this extremely negative review of them someone posted to The Reef Tank on 10 Apr 2010.
Their website shows a photo of the exterior of a warehouse along with photos of two rows of brand new, completely dry holding tanks. I wonder why they didn't show photos of those holding tanks actually holding something? Or maybe they're in the process of moving into that site? It doesn't look nearly large enough to hold even a fraction of the animals they list in their 'catalog.'
In this RC thread, dated 9 Sep 2010, someone posts that freshmarine.com sent him the wrong fish. Someone else posts that he's lucky they sent him anything at all. He advises him to check out all of the reviews.
I ran a Better Business Bureau search on both freshmarine.com and dreamaquatic.com in both the Los Angeles BBB and the San Jose BBB and came up blank under both names. The reason I ran them through L.A. is because almost all of these guys are originally from L.A. because that's where all of the livestock from the Indo-Pacific comes into this country.
In this RC thread of 17 Apr 2010, someone warns that DreamAquatic.com screwed him really bad, double charging more than $400 and not even shipping what he ordered. He said he had to get his money back from his credit card bank. He said that DreamAquatic.com is also known as FreshMarine.com out of La Puente, CA. La Puente is near Los Angeles.
Like I said in the beginning, I have no personal experience with this company and never even heard of them before. However, I have now heard of them, and that's an understatement.
Caveat emptor!
Ninong
Wow! I didn't know this:
True Percula ClownfishI found that information here on the freshmarine.com website. I had no idea that percula clownfish were for experts only. That is the stupidest thing I have ever read on any website. Well, maybe not the stupidest but it's certainly worthy of being added to the list.
Amphiprion percula
Care level: Moderate
Expert Only!!!
Not Cover Under Arrive
Guaranteed
Here's another observation of mine: English is not the first language of the person who wrote that. My guess is that this company is originally from the Far East, possibly Thailand.
Surprise, surprise! Dreamaquatic.com says exactly the same thing about the percula clownfish in exactly the same language.
P.S. -- That's really funny. Not only is a percula clownfish for "expert only," it's not even guaranteed to arrive. Dead or alive!
Ninong
It's always a good idea to ask if anyone has personal experience with a company you are thinking of purchasing something from (especially livestock) and it's always a good idea to run a Google search. In addition, I always like to run their BBB report but sometimes that's difficult if you don't know where they're located. A lot of times it's next to impossible to figure out where your stuff is coming from because a lot of these guys don't give away their location on their website.
Ninong
ChemGuy (09-22-2010)
WOW Thanks so much Ninong.
I will not be doing business with these folks/
Vin
Reef keeping is one of the only endeavors that going slow is actually faster.
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)