Welcome to the Reef Forum.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Citizen
    Thanks

Angry Snails and hermits dying!

Sorry to be asking so many ?'s but I'm a newbie to this, and this forum is so helpful.

My ongoing dilema......I've probably spent over $50 on snails and hermits now, and not one of them is still alive. I also have 2 green chromis, royal gramma, o. clown, and a lawnmower blenny. Oh, I have some feather dusters too. All of which are doing fine. It's just that the snails and crabs are keeling over. The specifics are as follows: 55gal saltwater, tidepool 2 sump, installing protein skimmer tomorrow, 2 65 watt 10,000k daylight, and 2 65 watt actinic 03's. I keep my lights on 8 hours a day. Ammonia-0, Nitrites-0, Ph-7.7-8.0, Nitrates-20ppm. I'm also having a green algae problem, I can't keep snails or crabs alive along enough to eat it. I'm not overfeeding my fish either, who knows where the algae is coming from. Oh, and my tank has been up for 4 months now. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
    Big Gulps huh? Welp, see you later.

Images
    Thanks
    Is there any possibility at all of copper contamination?
    Ninong

Citizen
    Thanks
    I had my copper tested about a month ago at the LFS and it was at 0. I don't have a home copper test, (the 1 test I don't have) If there's copper in there, I would have no idea where it came from. Actually, the time I had the copper tested, I had bought some crabs and snails that same day, from the same store and they've all bit the dust. The turbo snails seem to crawl around for a day or so, then they find a spot and die. The Nassisus (sp?) snails actually all came out of their shells and crawled around in the buff for a few days before dying. This behavior completely baffled my LFS. I guess they just liked feeling the water on their bums. ;;

Images
    Thanks